Home > Free Form Poetry, Poetry, Writing > Conflicted Faith

Conflicted Faith

We place our faith in people’s good,
Trust in broken promises, lost,
Gone ourselves in eclectic denials
Manifested by hope misguided.

Faith we place to Lords above,
No right, no wrong, just prayers
in a sea of simple beliefs.

Faith is polite yet ugly,
Serene while superficial,
Leading us blindly
with guiding light.

And yet, there is

no way to express, depth beyond
reasoning… Faith can be
anything, put forth by mind’s
in need, a need to see

the greater dream.

                                              (c) 2010 by D. Wright

This was written for Sunday Scribblings and their prompt: Faith. I am playing around with longer poetry with longer thoughts rather than my normal short poetry (for those of you that follow my blog, you know the style I’m talking about). Hopefully it doesn’t dissapoint! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

 

  1. August 29, 2010 at 11:42 am

    Well…your fears are allayed! This is a fine example of a different style; very well done. The photo is excellent.

  2. August 29, 2010 at 11:57 am

    a need to see
    the greater dream

    The ending was just magically summing up all my beliefs about Faith. Something that you’re in possession of but hold proof of possession besides your actions. The act of trust or the act of kindness. Beautifully worded.

    • August 29, 2010 at 12:07 pm

      my faith has been in question lately.. not sure where it lies or what i believe in… so, i believe in my words. thank you for stopping by and the great comments!

  3. August 29, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    Loved the photo and nice words going with it!

  4. August 29, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    I agree with all of the above…I loved the end of your poem, magical words xxx

  5. September 2, 2010 at 9:46 am

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/08/25/thursday-poets-rally-week-27-august-26-sept-1-2010/

    This link list the most recent Rally,

    you can participate by leaving a link to your entry poem, then comment for 18 participants, I give you the permission to do so..

    After you are done,
    let me know,
    then I will assign you awards…

    Rally week 28 is sept 9-15, will be several days later.

  6. September 13, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    Another poem that so identifies the human condition. Your writing makes me want to know more about you. I’ve worked with death and dying most of my life and tend toward these themes also. Victoria

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

