Home > Free Form Poetry, Poetry, Uncategorized, Writing > Youthful Fantasy – Mag 29

Youthful Fantasy – Mag 29

secluded

hidden

buried ‘neath
canopy high
green fol’age
cover hidden
treasures
like that of
mansions

mysterious

magical

holding powers
seen by
youth
playing in
wild abandon

  (c) 2010 by D. Wright                           

This was written for the Magpie Tales prompt based on the picture above. Thanks for stopping by and enjoying. I played around with some “broken” words… did it work? is my point coming across? Thanks for any feedback!

 

  1. DiamondsAndDogs
    August 28, 2010 at 10:34 am

    Very nice, I think you captured the essence evoked in the image well.

    • August 28, 2010 at 12:24 pm

      thanks for the awesome comment! check back anytime!

  2. August 28, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    I love it; the mystical, magical memories of youth!

  3. August 28, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    An awesome poem for those of us with a strong grasp of the English language. This could be very difficult for those who carry English as a second language. Do you have many fans worldwide who read your work who have expressed difficulty in understanding your poem?

    • August 29, 2010 at 8:05 am

      so far, I haven’t had any issues with foreign readers but I’ll keep it in mind. thanks for the comments!

  4. August 28, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    love the last line…only the young see the potential and the magic…so true in so many circumstances….nice magpie!

  5. August 28, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    What a wonderful visual of the mystery and magic of children playing. Excellent Magpie!

  6. August 28, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    Very fine Mag 29 … good for you. I could have pictured the scene even without the photograph.

  7. August 28, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    I agree with Jamie, you really painted a great picture here. I really did not need the photograph to supplement my imagination. Good work.

  8. August 29, 2010 at 1:28 am

    A secret place. Nice Magpie.

  9. August 29, 2010 at 7:26 am

    well done…bravo!

  10. Meaghan
    August 29, 2010 at 8:09 am

    I love this one. Brought back memories of my childhood and a mansion in Sudbury that was deserted that I used to play around. Love Mom xxoo

  11. claudia
    August 29, 2010 at 9:38 am

    a magical piece – especially the last line – some things are only visible for the children or the child in us

  12. August 29, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    I got lost in this magical mystical written piece…it brought back memories. Thanks my friend xx

  13. August 29, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    Ah, I love the magic in this childhood tale.

  14. August 30, 2010 at 3:25 am

    Nice piece. I really like that last line!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

