Home > Just Life, Poetry, Writing > Prayer

Prayer

chains and shackles
devised by thee,

keep me rooted
immobile, un-free,

forgetting life
the joy it brings,

traded for pain
my own misery,

God above
If real and true,

bring the winds
fierce, unwavering,

uproot this tree
my life and pain,

break me down
so I may, one day,

get up again.

(c) 2010 by D. Wright

  1. August 22, 2010 at 9:46 am

    nice flow,
    lovely poem!

  2. August 22, 2010 at 10:26 am

    Whoa! I got more into this poem as I read along, and loved the prayer to uproot the tree…….and grew inspired when you ended with “so I may one day get up again.” Yes, it all depends on the getting up! This poem surprised me as it unfolded and became more than I was expecting. Good work.

    • August 22, 2010 at 10:46 am

      glad i could surprise and yes, we all may be down sometimes but getting up is the part that defines us all!

  3. August 22, 2010 at 10:33 am

    This is a poem written from the depths. I do believe that if one is down, one will get back up again…but when one IS down, sometimes it is hard to realize that. My best to you!

  4. August 22, 2010 at 10:47 am

    it has been a journey and a struggle. i feel that poetry is best written from the depths of ones own soul, emotion and experiences. thanks for stopping by!

  5. August 22, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    This is a very good poem. I could feel the pain while reading it.

  6. August 22, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    Sometimes we have to reach the bottom before we find the courage to look up toward the light. A very moving piece.

  7. August 22, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    Pain is not a good trade-off for joy! Good poem. Hang in there.

  8. August 22, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    Love the wordplay…very good my friend xx

  9. soulintention: signed .............bkm
    August 23, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    Love the sound and flow of this poem…and the getting up again…positive…bkm

  10. August 24, 2010 at 12:07 am

    This piece is, to me, pure. I feel the emotions; pain, doubt, and hope. Well done.

  11. August 24, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    WELL WELL WELL, nicely stated my new chum, i do know where your coming from, Pleasure to meet, another with such feat, added you to my blog roll, don’t worry their is no toll, Just remember to swing by from time to time, and i shall please you with some rhyme.

    Shoeless Thanks for swinging by my blog, and surfing around a bit.

  12. Meaghan
    August 24, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    I’m wondering who/or what is your chains and shackles? Talk to me please. You have me rather concerned. Love Mom xxoo

    • August 24, 2010 at 4:33 pm

      you worry too much… not all poetry (nor writing in general) is based upon ones own life. the joy of writing is putting yourself in other situations and writing about it. or, reflecting upon ones past and simply remembering. the point is to elicit emotion in other people and that’s exactly what this has done.

  13. August 25, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    Powerful prayer. Sincere. Passionate. I resonate with the desire. – Bill

    • August 25, 2010 at 5:52 pm

      thank you and stop back in any time!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

