Home > Writing, Writing Strategy > I’ve fallen and I can’t get up…

I’ve fallen and I can’t get up…

Who put that wall there anyways? Yup, you guessed it… the dreaded writers block… And mine seems almost insurmountable! So how does one get rid of it?

Or over it? Or around it? Or under it? Exactly the answer!

The question is not how to get rid of writers block… but to find ways to maneuver yourself around writers block. Also important: don’t let writers block be the killer to your writing dreams and potentials as I have done for many years of my life! It’s time for a change, damnit! It’s time for my voice to come back!

So what I’m going to devise in the comming days is a series of random thoughts and pictures. I am going to write down any little thought I have throughout the day and save any picture I find interesting. At the end of the day, I will go through my notes and pick 14 or so of the most interesting topics.

The challenge… force myself to write twice a day for 7 days… anything that comes to mind… just write. 10 to 15 minutes per topic. It could be short story, diary, poetry, profanity, prophetic, or any other sort of topic. The key is to actually write… to write what is creatively hiding inside of me, to write in the style’s that most thrill me. This is my first challenge to myself in order to become the writer I want to be, not the one who occasionally picks up a pencil, scribbles a few sentences or pages, then forgets about himself for 2 years.

It is about getting rid of this:

And achieving this:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So put your dreams to paper everyone! Don’t hide them in a corner to collect dust…

Question: What was your longest stretch of writing inactivity and what motivated you to start writing once again?

OK everyone… have a great night!

  1. August 11, 2010 at 11:01 am

    Hi,
    I have two scripts that I have been working on for two years and they still need endings. :/
    You are not alone but the best way to defeat the block is to do some disciplined writing exercises. Hope you can be free soon. 🙂

    S

  2. August 13, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    How to get around writer’s block: Don’t force. Flow. Just write. Don’t edit. They’re two separate functions. You will always have writer’s block if you try to do the two together. You can refine after you have it all down.

    You’ve got a great sense of humor, seems to me, and a lot of determiantion.

  3. August 13, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    Before I was determined to do a major in music, I worked hard on my major in English, specifically in short fiction writing. And, frankly, writing CONSTANTLY is THE hardest thing ever. (Actually, anything that takes consistency, stability, and discipline is hard.)

    Reading books about writing helped me. It still does; I still write. Writing about writing helped me. Whenever I was stuck and couldn’t write anything, I would sit down and write about the fact that I couldn’t write. Vocabulary study helped me. I had a whole book, a vocab builder, that I was reading and studying every night. My goal was to write 10-minute stories/poems using the words learned from that book that day.

    Hmmmm… what else… I found people around me very inspirational. Sometimes I would just sit down and write about the most ordinary days of people I know, imagining every single little detail of their life. It’s SO difficult to recreate people’s full character on a piece of paper and make it BREATHE!

    If you want me to give you a list of books to read about writing, I’d be more than glad to do share 🙂

    • August 13, 2010 at 10:59 pm

      thanks for all the advice! for me, it is getting over my insecurities… I need to understand that to be a better writer, other’s must read my work BEFORE it is complete so that I may make it better. I am such a shy individual, however, blogging has opened doors that may truly help me become the writer I want to be.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

